Wednesday, November 5, 2008

NL Gold Glove Winners

And your National League Rawlings Gold Glove award winners for the 2008 season are:

Pitcher: Greg Maddux, LA (Dodgers)
Catcher: Yadier Molina, St. Louis
1st Base: Adrian Gonzalez, San Diego
2nd Base: Brandon Phillips, Cincinnati
3rd Base: David Wright, NY (Mets)
Short Stop: Jimmy Rollins, Philadelphia
Outfield: Shane Victorino, Philadelphia
Outfield: Nate McClouth, Pittsburg
Outfield: Carlos Beltran, NY (Mets)

For a guy who is seriously considering retirement, Greg Maddux doesn't seem to be losing much in terms of fielding. This is his, count them all, eighteenth career Gold Glove. Maddux has been on an only-once-interupted streak since 1990 (four years after he began his major league career). The only other National League pitcher to win a Gold Glove since Greg Maddux became the reigning king was Mike Hampton, his teammate in the 2003 season with the Atlanta Braves.

This is the second year in a row awards were handed out to Beltran, Rollins and Wright. Phillips, Molina, McClouth, Victorino, and Gonzalez are new on the scene. And, sadly, this is the first time in ten years Andruw Jones has not been awarded a Gold Glove. Maybe if he ever got playing time... Better luck next year, Superman.

Given his stunning performance in the 2008 All Star game that seemed to echo his entire season, I was pleased to see Nate McClouth win the award. For those of you keeping score, Yadier Molina is the second of the three Molina catching brothers to win a Gold Glove. Can you name the other Molina?

That'd be Bengie, two of them actually in consecutive seasons. Makes for an interesting family dinner. What's that, Jose? No Gold Glove? Guess you'll be sitting at the little kids table!

The American League, always wanting the last word, will announce their Gold Glove recipients tomorrow.

No comments :