Monday, July 6, 2009

All-Star Selections

The 2009 Major League Baseball All-Star Game will be held at Busch Stadium in St. Louis on the evening of July 14th. Yesterday, during a televised selection show on TBS, the starters, pitching staffs, and reserves were announced for the American League and National League. The following represents how fans (for the starters) and MLB players and All-Star Game managers (for pitching and reserves) voted:

American League Starters

C: Joe Mauer (Twins)
1B: Mark Teixeira (Yankees)
2B: Dustin Pedroia (Red Sox)
SS: Derek Jeter (Yankees)
3B: Evan Longoria (Rays)
OF: Ichiro Suzuki (Mariners)
OF: Jason Bay (Red Sox)
OF: Josh Hamilton (Rangers)

AL Pitching Staff: Tim Wakefield (Red Sox), Zack Greinke (Royals), Roy Halladay (Blue Jays), Josh Beckett (Red Sox), Mariano Rivera (Yankees), Mark Buehrle (White Sox), Justin Verlander (Tigers), Andrew Bailey (A's), Brian Fuentes (Angels), Edwin Jackson (Tigers), Felix Hernandez (Mariners), Joe Nathan (Twins), Jonathan Papelbon (Red Sox).

AL Reserves: Kevin Youkilis (Red Sox), Ben Zobrist (Rays), Carl Crawford (Rays), Jason Bartlett (Rays), Curtis Granderson (Tigers), Torii Hunter (Angels), Justin Morneau (Twins), Adam Jones (Orioles), Victor Martinez (Indians), Aaron Hill (Blue Jays), Michael Young (Rangers).

AL Coaching Staff: Joe Maddon (Rays), Trey Hillman (Blue Jays), Don Wakamatsu (Mariners).

National League Starters
C: Yadier Molina (Cardinals)
1B: Albert Pujols (Cardinals)
2B: Chase Utley (Phillies)
SS: Hanley Ramirez (Marlins)
3B: David Wright (Mets)
OF: Raul Ibanez (Phillies)
OF: Ryan Braun (Brewers)
OF: Carlos Beltran (Mets)

Pitching Staff: Johan Santana (Mets), Tim Lincecum (Giants), Matt Cain (Giants), Jonathan Broxton (Dodgers), Heath Bell (Padres), Jason Marquis (Rockies), Dan Haren (Diamondbacks), Ted Lilly (Cubs), Chad Billingsley (Dodgers), Josh Johnson (Marlins), Francisco Cordero (Reds), Ryan Franklin (Cardinals), Francisco Rodriguez (Mets).

Reserves: Price Fielder (Brewers), Adrian Gonzalez (Padres), Brian McCann (Braves), Ryan Howard (Phillies), Miguel Tejada (Astros), Hunter Pence (Astros), Justin Upton (Diamondbacks), Ryan Zimmerman (Nationals), Brad Hawpe (Rockies), Freddy Sanchez (Pirates), Orlando Hudson (Dodgers).

Coaching Staff: Charlie Manuel (Phillies), Tony La Russa (Cardinals), Joe Torre (Dodgers).

The All-Star Game rosters have been expanded this year to include 33 players on each team, up from the 32 on last year's rosters. The final man on each roster will be voted on by the fans. Below are the players eligible in each league for your final vote:

Final Vote
American League
Chone Figgens (Angels), Brandon Inge (Tigers), Adam Lind (Blue Jays), Ian Kinsler (Rangers), Carlos Pena (Rays).
National League
Matt Kemp (Dodgers), Cristian Guzman (Nationals), Mark Reynolds (Diamondbacks), Shane Victorino (Phillies), Pablo Sandoval (Giants).

My votes didn't exactly match up with the overall picks, however my final vote for the AL will go to, without hesitation, Brandon Inge of the Detroit Tigers and I think the final vote choices picked the wrong Philly--I would have gone with Werth--so my NL vote will go to Pablo "Kung Fu Panda" Sandoval (why the nickname? just look at this dude).

It is very exciting to see two veterans of the game, Tim Wakefield and Raul Ibanez, finally being recognized for their talent and stamina. Should be a great all-star break in St. Louis. The future all-stars game will take place on the evening of Sunday July 12th, the State Farm Home Run Derby Monday July 13th and the big finale All-Star Game Tuesday July 14th.

No comments :