Thursday, November 12, 2009

Gold Gloves Awarded

The Rawlings Gold Glove awards have been handed out and break down as follows (parentheses note the number of awards won by each player):

National League:
P: Adam Wainwright, St. Louis Cardinals (1st)
C: Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals (2nd)
1B: Adrian Gonzalez, San Diego Padres (2nd)
2B: Orlando Hudson, Los Angeles Dodgers (4th)
3B: Ryan Zimmerman, Washington Nationals (1st)
SS: Jimmy Rollins, Philadelphia Phillies (3rd)
OF: Michael Bourn, Houston Astros (1st)
OF: Shane Victorino, Philadelphia Phillies (2nd)
OF: Matt Kemp, Los Angeles Angels (1st)

American League:
P: Mark Buehrle, Chicago White Sox (1st)
C: Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins (2nd)
1B: Mark Teixeira, New York Yankees (3rd)
2B: Placido Polanco, Detroit Tigers (2nd)
3B: Evan Longoria, Tampa Bay Rays (1st)
SS: Derek Jeter, New York Yankees (4th)
OF: Adam Jones, Baltimore Orioles (1st)
OF: Torii Hunter, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim (9th)
OF: Ichiro Suzuki, Seattle Mariners (9th)

My only major disagreement with the managers and coaches from each league that vote on these things is in their awarding the NL 1st base Gold Glove to Adrian Gonzalez. What about Albert Pujols? I'm not the only one with such questions--take a look at what has to say.

No comments :